Logo der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften

Geodäsie (DGK)


Department for Global Geodesy of the Committee for Geodesy (DGK)

Global Geodesy studies various phenomena such as the shape of the Earth, fluctuations of the Earth´s rotation and the gravity field. This entails the development and use of manifold methods to record, model and interpret components of the System Earth on diverse spatial and temporal scales. Complementary sensor systems and satellite missions are employed to record highly precise geometrical and gravity data, which are checked by independent procedures and validated. The infrastructures appropriate for these activities are utilized if available, and newly developed if required. The validated data are then used for further interpretation designed to improve understanding of the processes operating within the System Earth, such as those which contribute to global change. The recording and analysis of data is often organized within the scope of large joint research projects. A notable strong point of geodesy in this regard is that it furnishes products derived from it with a reliable measure of quality. The interpretation of geodetic results strictly requires cooperation with other earth sciences which provide models for the dynamic processes taking place on the surface and in the interior of the Earth. The continual improvement of the corresponding sensor systems, infrastructure and modelling is essential for the research required to attain the goals of global geodesy with sufficient accuracy.

Artistic representation of the GRACE-FO Mission; the microwave distance measurement between the two satellites as realized within GRACE is shown (as the central beam), as well as newly developed laser interferometry (the outer running beams). © Earth: NASA “Blue Marble”, satellites: Schütze/AEI


Full Members

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Becker, TU Darmstadt
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Flechtner, TU Berlin, GFZ Potsdam
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jakob Flury, Univ. Hannover 
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernhard Heck, Univ. Karlsruhe (KIT)
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Horwath, TU Dresden
  • Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Urs Hugentobler, TU München
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Kusche, Univ. Bonn
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hansjörg Kutterer, BKG Frankfurt
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Müller, Univ. Hannover - Presidency
  • Prot. Dr.techn. Roland Pail, TU München
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Steffen Schön, Univ. Hannover
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Harald Schuh, TU Berlin, GFZ Potsdam
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolf-Dieter Schuh, Univ. Bonn
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Florian Seitz, DGFI-TUM München
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Nico Sneeuw, Univ. Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr. Maik Thomas, FU Berlin, GFZ Potsdam

Corresponding Members

  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Beutler, Univ. Bern, Schweiz
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Péter Biró, TU Budapest, Ungarn
  • Prof. Dr. Alain Geiger, ETH Zürich, Schweiz
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dumitru Ghitau, Univ. Bukarest, Rumänien
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger Haas, Chalmers University of Technology, Onsala, Schweden
  • Prof. Dr. Adrian Jäggi, Univ. Bern, Schweiz
  • Prof. Dr. Markku Poutanen, FGI Masala, Finnland
  • Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Markus Rothacher, ETH Zürich, Schweiz

Retired Members

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Dietrich, TU Dresden
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hermann Drewes, DGFI-TUM München
  • Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Willi Freeden, TU Kaiserslautern
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Erik Grafarend, Univ. Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Erwin Groten, TU Darmstadt
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günter Hein, UniBW München
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl-Heinz Ilk, Univ. Bonn
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alfred Kleusberg, Univ. Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Siegfried Meier, TU Dresden
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Niemeier, TU Braunschweig
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Rummel, TU München
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Torge, Univ. Hannover


  • Dr.-Ing. Johannes Bouman, BKG Frankfurt
  • Dr.-Ing. Wilfried Ellmer, BSH Rostock
  • Dr.-Ing. Cord-Hinrich Jahn, LGLN Hannover
  • Dr.-Ing. Axel Nothnagel, Univ. Bonn
  • Dr.-Ing. Astrid Sudau, BFG Koblenz


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Müller